What are Chakras?

The word ‘chakra’ is actually a Sanskrit word which means ‘wheel’. The human body is known to have seven major energy centers that are in fact very much like a wheel in that they are spinning vortexes of energy.

These wheels or chakras are located within our etheric body. Through these chakras we receive, transmit and process energies.

Each of your seven chakras have individual characteristics as well as individual functions. Below you will find detailed information on each chakra including its:

  • characteristics
  • functions
  • color
  • corresponding organs

More often than not some of our chakras are out of alignment or balance. This may cause health problems in our physical, emotional, mental or even spiritual bodies. Chakra tuning can be a great way to restore health and balance to your energy centers and to your life. For more information on how to balance your energy read our post on chakra tuning.

First Chakra – The Root or Base Chakra
  • Location: Base of the spine… coccyx
  • Color: Red
  • Element: Earth
  • Functions: Vitality for physical body, survival, self-preservation
  • Glands/Organs: Kidneys, adrenals, spinal column, legs bones
  • Gems/Minerals: Ruby, garnet, bloodstone, black tourmaline, obsidian, red jasper, smoky quartz
  • Qualities: Physical world, grounding, individuality, stability, security, material world, success, health, courage, patience
  • Negative Qualities: Self-centered, violence, insecurity, greed, anger
Second Chakra – Navel Chakra
  • Location: Lower abdomen to navel area
  • Color: Orange
  • Element: Water
  • Functions: Assimilation of food, vitality, sexuality, procreation
  • Gland/Organs: Genitals, ovaries, testicles, prostate gland, womb, bladder, spleen
  • Gems/Minerals: Coral, carnelian, gold calcite, amber, gold topaz, citrine, peach aventurive
  • Qualities: Emotions, desire, giving, receiving, pleasure, sexual love, movement, change, assimilation of new ideas, surrender, tolerance, creativity
  • Negative Qualities: Sexual difficulties, over-indulgence in food or sex, jealousy, envy, confusion, purposelessness
Third Chakra – Solar Plexus
  • Location: Below the breastbone and behind stomach
  • Color: Yellow
  • Element: Fire
  • Functions: Ambition, personal power, intellect, desire, astral force, emotions based on intellect and touch
  • Gland/Organs: Digestive tract, liver, pancreas, stomach, gall bladder, spleen, autonomic nervous system
  • Gems/Minerals: Tiger’s eye, Amber, Citrine, Yellow topaz
  • Qualities: Purifying, transforming, shaping, mental energy
  • Negative Qualities: Perfectionism, control over self, self-critical, frustration, anxiety
Fourth Chakra – Heart Chakra
  • Location: Center of chest
  • Color: Green
  • Element: Air
  • Functions: Vitalizes the heart, circulatory system, blood, thymus, cellular structure, involuntary muscles
  • Gland/Organs: Heart, chest cavity, ribs, blood, lower lungs, circulatory system, skin, hands, thymus
  • Gems/Minerals: Emerald, green jade, kunzite, rose quartz, pink tourmaline
  • Qualities: Center of compassion, love, spirituality, group consciousness, open to change, balance
  • Negative Qualities: Fear, sadness, anger, self-abandonment, resentment, hostility, jealousy
Fifth Chakra – Throat Chakra
  • Location: Throat, neck
  • Color: Blue
  • Element: Ether
  • Functions: Communication… both verbal and mental
  • Gland/Organs: Throat and jaw, thyroid gland, lungs, vocal cords, breath
  • Gems/Minerals: Turquoise, aquamarine, chrysocollia, chalcedony
  • Qualities: Clear communication of feelings and thoughts, creativity, openness, speaking up, releasing, healing
  • Negative Qualities: Low self-esteem, low self-confidence, uptight, anger, resentment
Sixth Chakra – Third Eye
  • Location: Between the eyebrows and up about one finger-breadth
  • Color: Indigo
  • Element: None
  • Functions: Psychic power, higher intuition, forces of light, clairvoyance, healing
  • Gland/Organs: Pituitary gland, ears, nose, sinuses, eyes, cerebellum, central nervous system
  • Gems/Minerals: Indigo, sapphire, lapis lazuli, sodalite
  • Qualities: Emotional and spiritual love center, higher consciousness, clairvoyance, inner sight
  • Negative Qualities: Worry, fear, shock, irritation, depression, headaches, speech problems
Seventh Chakra – Crown Chakra
  • Location: Crown of head
  • Color: Violet
  • Element: None
  • Functions: Enlightenment, center of spirituality
  • Gland/Organs: Pineal gland, crerebrum
  • Gems/Minerals: Amethyst, quartz crystal
  • Qualities: Allows us to experience self-awareness, compassion, peacefulness, oneness
  • Negative Qualities: Confusion, stress, anxiety

For more information on chakras and how to keep your energy and health balanced and strong see our article on chakra tuning.